Rejoicing in Heaven (Part 1)

Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?

If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,

even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.

-Psalm 139: 7-10

I haven’t been writing much lately.

When  I first started writing these I was really knew what I was doing at camp, I’d been doing it for a year. Now I’m somewhere new and every day I’m sorting new things out.

There is however a story I need to tell you and I’m surprised that my excitement didn’t cause me to communicate it sooner:

Honestly it’s all a bit of a blur.

The story starts with a bit of chaos. Our supervisor-of-the-day Boomerang was watching expectedly for us to split the children amongst ourselves for small Bible study  groups. None of us wanted to. All three of us just looked at each other with ‘Why don’t YOU do it’ type looks. They were getting restless. But none of us were giving in.

Finally Pipes heard one of the kids say ‘Just number us!’, and so she did. “1,2,3, 1,2,3, 1. Ones with Dallas, twos with Rumour, threes with me, Let’s go!”

More chaos ensued. They didn’t like their groups. They followed whichever friends they wanted to be with to whichever leader they chose. I stood there with no kids wishing I’d paid a bit of attention to which kids were twos. Finally I saw that Dallas had three and Pipes had four so I grabbed two confused looking boys from Pipes’ group and sent them to the other side of the opening room.

We sat down in a small circle of chairs and thankfully our streetleader, Bartowski, joined our group.

We had been talking in the large group about compassion. Now we would look at how much God values us by reading bits of Psalm 139. Hoping that the kids would see how much God loves them, and how much He loves everyone else as well.

We were passing my Bible in a circle each reading a couple of verses. One little fellow even paused after, “You know what I am going to say…” long enough for me to cut in with “EVEN BEFORE I SAY IT!” (Don’t worry folks, no super human powers there, I just knew the verse.)

Every once in awhile we’d stop and discuss what we were reading.

As is very common with one of the boys from my group, the topic of Heaven kept coming up. I was trying to stick to my point so I was trying to avoid all of the way out in space type questions. But eventually one question came up that I just wouldn’t brush off. I can’t remember the exact wording, but he asked how I could know I was going to Heaven. I told him there was a choice. He asked if you choose when you die. I told him that would be too late. You need to choose to follow Jesus while you’re alive, why else would you get to be with Him later?

They both new a lot about the Bible. We talked about salvation. We talked about asking Jesus to lead your life. We talked about believing in your heart and confessing with your mouth. Bartowski stressed how important it is to really believe what you’re saying.

So there they were, these two little boys in front of me with their eyes squeezed shut and hands pressed tightly together mouthing silent prayers asking God to be in their lives. I couldn’t help but think that that Heaven obsessed little guy had said that prayer before, but I had hope that he would now realize the finality behind it. When they were done I asked if I could pray for them and so I did.

We talked awhile longer before realizing that our time was up and heading out to continue the game of basketball I’d been watching them play.

After awhile I started to wonder where Pipes was. I stuck my head in the office then backed out awkwardly as three individuals who looked rather busy and were not Erin Pipes looked up at me.

“She’s still in WordUp!” I thought to myself, and I began to pray for the Spirit to guide her words as I walked quickly towards the area of the room where her Bible class had been…

So two wonderful little boys prayed for salvation. But our God wasn’t done there. I’ll fill you in on the rest of what He was doing tomorrow.

Continue to Part 2

2 Comments

Filed under Camp Victory

2 responses to “Rejoicing in Heaven (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: Rumour Has It…

  2. Pingback: Rejoicing in Heaven (Part 2) « Rumour Has It…

Leave a Reply

