Honestly, My life would suck without you.

I’ve been singing the words in that title as a prayer for the past couple of days. They’re from a Kelly Clarkson song, but none of the other words actually apply to the situation, so I stick to those ones.

Only a couple days ago I finally got over the pain of losing my camp enough to start to realize something: I miss my kids. A lot.

Every so often my thoughts start to wander into all the wrong places and a simple but dangerous phrase comes to mind: “Life Sucks!” My cynical nature tends to rise up, and I decide to agree. “Well yes, that’s right, it sure does!”

But I always remember a particular day that I was taught otherwise, and I’m forced to change that opinion:

The whole group was sitting around a couple of tables just finishing off their Fun Day Friday meal. One of the little Peace boys abruptly stated that phrase that I’m always tempted to believe: “Life sucks!”

I don’t think I was going to say anything about it… At least I held back from agreeing.

But one of my boys who had found Christ about a year prior corrected him: “No, life doesn’t suck, because of Jesus.”

You’re right my little friend. Not only does it not suck, it’s actually pretty awesome now that I come to think of it.  Because of Jesus.

The Victory kids are amazing. That camp is full of personality. If there’s a shy one amongst them I have yet to meet him. (I wouldn’t be surprised if there actually is… It wouldn’t be hard to hide in that group!)

I miss my Peace kids, and I hope to see them soon. I am however happy to be getting to know the kids of Camp Victory. My knowledge of children tells me that I’ll have many a quote for you soon. And my knowledge of God tells me that these kids will teach me a lot, just like the kids at Peace did. Maybe I’ll even have a few more children telling me just how far life is, in fact, from sucking.

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow.
Because He lives, all fear is gone.
Because I know, I know, I know He holds the future.
And life is worth the living just because He lives.


1 Comment

Filed under Camp Peace, Camp Victory

One response to “Honestly, My life would suck without you.

  1. Hosanna

    Oh Rumour, I miss all those kids tons too. And I miss all of you. And that pic. brought back so much awesome memories. It was a very special day!!! The last time we are all together for “Camp Peace Summer Camp”!!! Precious moments, indeed!!

    But as God has been teaching me, we have many spiritual chapters in our faith journey. The time I’ve been blessed with Camp Peace, is one chapter that I will put a great big book mark in it to never lose the place!!! And now, it is time for you and me to allow God to write another brand new, but just as awesome and special next chapter.

    Hang in there, my dear friend. I miss so much of our chat at camp . . . I can’t wait to have all of you over at my home again soon. Promise!!! Love you bunches!!!

Leave a Reply

