Open up your Heart.

I can remember my big sister putting this song on one day and telling me to sit and listen to the words. It touched me even then as a young girl tucked safely away in her bedroom. I didn’t know then that there would be a time when I’d encounter some of the issues raised in that song on a daily basis.

Well tonight I’ll pull you aside and ask you to sit down and listen to the words:

Tell me, how can I, how can I love Jesus
When I’ve never seen His face
Yeah, I see you dying
And I turn and walk away.

Look at Matthew 25.
Christ talks about separating all people into two groups.
Those who were there for Him when He was in need.
And those who turned their backs and did not help Him.

Both groups are confused. When did the see Him? When did they see the Son of Man?

And he replies:
‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

Living for Christ means being there for other people. When they’re hungry. When they’re lonely. When they’re in a hard place. It means not only looking out for yourself.

Looking out for your neighbour. Your neighbour in the house next door, and the one who doesn’t have a house.

Didn’t He say ‘the least of these’… Sometimes I feel like those are the people we’re walking away from, with a rather quickened pace.

Instead of just walking away
Open up your heart and say:
I am here
You don’t have to worry
I can see your tears
I’ll be there in a hurry when you call
Friends will be there to catch you when you fall
Here’s my shoulder, you can lean on me.

Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity. – Colossians 3:12-14

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

