Come Find Peace in the Father – Day 5/8

Be strong in the Lord and,
Never give up hope,
You’re going to do great things,
I already know,
God’s got His hand on you so,
Don’t live life in fear,
Forgive and forget,
But don’t forget why you’re here,
Take your time and pray,
These are the words I would say,

From one simple life to another,
I will say,
Come find peace in the Father

‘The Words I Would Say’ by Sidewalk Prophets (or in this case… from my mother.)

I’m trying to figure out how to explain day five without typing for five hours and making you read for a full twenty minutes. Well, no one would actually finish reading if I tried that… Except maybe my mom or Hosanna…

Wow, I’m wasting time.

Let’s start with this morning… No no… Wait… We have to go back to last week.

Right. Well, in general I’ve been really confused. Everyone’s been reminding me that God doesn’t change – and boy did I ever need to hear it. I was shaken up. Suddenly it felt like God wasn’t providing… And if that was the case how was I going to get through life?

I don’t know about you, but I plan on moving forward under the provision of my Heavenly Father. Lord willing I will go to University for five years… And then to become a missionary. Not a money making business my friends.

So I prayed, one of those desperate lost kind of prayers. I told God that I needed reassurance. I knew that He was a God who provided for His children. So why did it feel like I’d asked for bread and gotten a stone? That’s not my God. So I told Him what I was needing, I needed Him to provide. I needed to see. The problem was… Well I have all that I need. So, I didn’t know what to ask for and I moved on.

One thing I thought about last week was how awesome it would be to get all our kids Bibles. They don’t need us… But they do need the Word. I have no money, and I’ve got a lot to do… So I moved on from that one too.

NOW to this morning. All the Alexandra Park interns were in a meeting to figure out what our next few weeks would look like and my partner had a question to ask of our leaders about ‘A lady in Germany…’ (that’s the point where he turned to me and said “Oh Rumour I haven’t told you yet…”) Then he continued to tell how a friend of his had decided the kids needed Bibles and she was willing to provide them.

Just like that.
All of a sudden.
Everything was ok.

He did it. He provided. Just like… He always does.
He’s the same yesterday, today and tomorrow.
I kept thinking that I’ve never seen Him provide… But I have. Just like that. Time and time again.

I really need to write these things down.
Wait, I just did. Score!

Ok. I’ll try to be quick about the camp day as I’ve already said quite a bit already.

On the way to camp I was walking with just MVP and his little brother for a bit. This little boy can be insanely mature: “Oh wow. Camp Peace is almost over. There’s gonna be a lot of tears on Friday!” He said out of the blue. We talked about it a bit more, it was terribly cute.

In WordUp I talked to my girls about God in their lives. I told them how their body is like a church that the Holy Spirit lives inside. I told them that they don’t need to be at Camp Peace and in that church to keep getting to know God better. I told them ways that I’ve gotten to know God throughout my life and I told them they should keep trying too. When we were done we exchanged stories we’ve heard about the tragedy in Haiti and we prayed for the children there.

For activity we painted peace ornaments. I bought them at Christmas but never found the time to use them, I’m glad that we did them now. It worked out a lot better.

Today was an all around good day.

🙂



3 Comments

Filed under Camp Peace

3 responses to “Come Find Peace in the Father – Day 5/8

  1. Emma

    Love this Rumour… 🙂

  2. Pingback: Toronto Summers. « Rumour Has It…

Leave a Reply

