Peace in the Storm – Day 3/8

I lift up my eyes to the hills where does my help come from?

My help comes from the LORD,

the Maker of heaven and earth.

-Psalm 121:1-2

That has been my favourite verse since the first grade.Crosses

Today at camp we finished off our bead crosses we started awhile back. Diceyy and Gemini, two past leaders, stopped by to visit.

Diceyy asked me the kind of question I’ve missed since he left at the beginning of this term: “Can’t God do something?”

I told him that of course God can, only God can at this point. But that’s His choice. I told him that maybe God will choose to encourage young leaders like him to step up and continue to be an example to our kids. 😉

I’ve been ok.

Surprisingly ok.

God’s been so close in all of this. He just keeps reminding me that He’s here and no matter what changes around me – He stays the same.

The one time I’ve had trouble was whenever someone would pray that we have peace. My mind works so much in metaphors that I couldn’t stand people wishing peace for me when soon I won’t have Peace.

This morning I was reminded of what I taught the kids about peace in the summer. Peace isn’t everything being still and quiet and perfect. Peace is something that we have in the midst of the storm, in the midst of the chaos. Peace is from the Spirit and so it does not depend on circumstance.

The world can take my camp, but they can’t take my peace. ❤

2 Comments

Filed under Camp Peace

2 responses to “Peace in the Storm – Day 3/8

  1. Lala

    This made me cry because I could here diccey’s voice asking that question…and picture the look on his face. There’s something so pure about faith that makes you ask questions like that =)

Leave a Reply

