If you gotta start somewhere…

When asked about influential Christians in my life I would have to list Toby Mckeehan. Yes, a Christian hip hop artist. You can laugh at me if you want but it’s truth.

Ever since the glorious days of Dc Talk, God has been talking to me through Toby Mac’s music. He’s taught me lessons. He’s given words I’ve needed to help a friend straight from the lips of Toby Mac… Or from my speakers, depends how you decide to look at it. Once though, God DID talk to me straight from the lips of Toby Mac. Toby didn’t know it but he spoke right into my heart with some words he said to the crowd at a concert in Cleveland. (Another time Toby told me that he liked my shirt… But that was just him talking, not God. Still kind of cool?)

Well I heard this song of his on the radio today. Not the first time I heard it, but the first time it hit me, and the first time I needed to share it. You may have heard it, but maybe it hasn’t hit you yet. It’s called City on Our Knees:

If you gotta start somewhere why not here?
If you gotta start sometime why not now?

If we gotta start somewhere I say here.
If we gotta start sometime I say now.

Through the fog there is hope in the distance
From cathedrals to third world missions
Love will fall to the earth like a crashing wave

Tonight’s the night
For the sinners and the saints
Two worlds collide in a beautiful display
It’s all love tonight
When we step across the line
We can sail across the sea
To a city with one King
A city on our knees

Really. What are we waiting for? Are we trying to figure out where to start?

Well.
First:
We get on our knees.

You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden.

-Matthew 5:14

Leave a comment

Filed under Lost in Thought

Leave a Reply

