Still Waiting?

And our hearts are all we get to bring,

So let’s go ahead and make them worth something.

-Relient K Apathetic

Where did I leave off?

I told you about the night I sat by the phone waiting for my niece to show up.

I told you about the connection I saw between our excitement for a newborn child and the excitement of Christmas. When the most amazing child was born.

Just as I’d been wondering if it was all about a Saviour who is just as real now as He was at His birth thousands of years ago, my pastor added a new realization to the mix.

He’s coming back.

Christ will return.

As Christmas draws near we should remember that God sent His son to earth – but it wasn’t a one time deal! He tells us that He is coming again.

To try to put our excitement level on this matter up to where it should be let’s look at some words that Christ gave His disciples to try to comfort them after telling them that He would be leaving:

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.” -John 14: 1-4 (NIV)

We know that Jesus will come again. So are we going to sit by the phone and wait? What would He think if we did!? Recall the parable of the talents?

Let’s be excited about Christ’s return – but let’s not sit around doing nothing!

The Bible tells us that no one knows the moment that Christ will return.                                                                                                                                                 So, how should this change the way we’re living our lives?

I’ve got a few thoughts coming to mind:

-We need to be living in complete obedience to God. (John 14:23)

-We need to be seeking God’s will on a daily basis. (Ephesians 2:10)

-We need to search for God with all of our hearts. (Jeremiah 29:13)

He needs to be our everything. Not part of our lives. Our wholes lives.

The reason we live. The reason we breathe. The reason we move forward.

Move forward towards what? Towards God’s Kingdom coming on earth. Just as Christ prayed.

Let’s be excited. Let’s live in anticipation of Christ’s return. In the meantime let’s not sit around and wait. Let’s live our lives so that everyone knows we’re living for Him and hope and pray that they’ll choose to do the same.

Check out: Tim Hughes’ – Everything. I find it to be a good prayer.

Leave a comment

Filed under Lost in Thought

Leave a Reply

