Awaiting.

Friday morning my mother called. Instead of waking me up to answer it my mind formed a complicated dream about reasons I could not get to the phone. I woke up thinking that waiting for a phone call announcing my nieces birth had driven me insane.

Upon checking Facebook I discovered that my mother had in fact called. My sister was heading to the hospital and wanted me called so that I could get home. In their excitement my family had forgotten that I had responsibilities.

I carried my phone around all day waiting. My dad called me to ask if I needed a train ticket and I told him to stop calling me with false alarms.

When I arrived home from camp my room mates were both still working. I called my dad and we talked for about half an hour. Both of us rather in the dark about what was going on at the hospital. Both of us waiting for the call.

Later, Timo knocked on my door and asked what I was up to. I looked over to where I’d been sitting on the couch, my laptop open to Facebook and my cell phone sitting beside it. “Waiting.” I told him.

Everyone was waiting. Even from Toronto I could see it. The world of Facebook was abuzz with people impatiently waiting for the baby to arrive.

I was dumbfounded at how excited everyone was. So many people just waiting for the news. I knew why I was excited, this was my sister, my niece was arriving. But everyone, EVERYONE was joining me in awaiting the arrival of this little girl.

Finally I got the call from my mommy. My amazing sister was a mommy now.

Soon I got a call from my dad making sure I’d gotten the news.

I’ve never felt such pure excitement over the phone before.

Our baby, she’s here!

I was able to go home and meet my niece and while I sat in that familiar pew in my home church God started to tell me something.

Soon after my big sister announced our nieces arrival to the church I asked for prayer for our Christmas party. As soon as I sat down I regretted not telling of our vision for the party.

Christmas is about Jesus.

The birth of the long awaited Messiah!

The Christ is born!

At our party we want the kids to understand the excitement surrounding the birth of Jesus. We know how to get excited for presents on Christmas morning… But where’s the excitement for our Saviour?

So as I sat in that pew my mind started making connections. Israel had waited and waited for their promised Messiah to come.

For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. – Isaiah 9:6 (NIV)

They were waiting for a baby.

They were all waiting.

Imagine the excitement for those who found the truth.

Imagine the shepherds as the angels announced to them that He was born! I was happy to be my mother’s second phone call. No wonder they threw away their responsibilities to find this child.

Imagine Mary, holding her Messiah in her arms. Pondering the words of her Lord deep in her heart.

Imagine the Magi following the star. They knew the child wasn’t only for the Jews. They would share in the excitement too!

And then I thought to myself: But He came. He died. He rose again.

It’s not that I don’t see the excitement in that. Nothing else in the world puts me at such awe as the fact that the Son of God would ever bother with me. That God could love me so much that He would send his son to atone for my sins.

I was just confused. Where’s the anticipation?

Then suddenly the answer came from the pulpit.

That happens sometimes.

I’m excited to tell you about it… But it’s time I went to bed.

I hope you await what God told me with great anticipation. 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Lost in Thought

2 responses to “Awaiting.

  1. Dee

    Loves.

    To you.

    And I like your blog today, and eagerly await.

  2. Pingback: Still Waiting? « Rumour Has It…

Leave a Reply

