That your faith may not fail.

99

“Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift you as wheat. But I prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.”

But he replied, “Lord, I am ready to go with you to prison and to death.”

Jesus answered, “I tell you, Peter, before the rooster crows today, you will deny three times that you know me.”

Luke 22:31-34 NIV

Then seizing him, they led him away and took him into the house of the high priest. Peter followed at a distance. But when they had kindled a fire in the middle of the courtyard and had sat down together, Peter sat down with them. A servant girl saw him seated there in the firelight. She looked closely at him and said, “This man was with him.”

But he denied it, “Woman, I don’t know him,” he said.

A little later someone else saw him and said, ” You also are one of them.”

“Man, I am not!” Peter replied.

About an hour later another asserted, “Certainly this fellow was with him, for he is a Galilean.”

Peter replied, “Man, I don’t know what you’re talking about!” Just as he was speaking, the rooster crowed. The Lord turned and looked straight at Peter. Then Peter remembered the word of the Lord spoken to him: “Before the rooster crows today you will disown me three times.”

And he went outside and wept bitterly.

Luke 22:54-62 NIV

He seemed to like her so much, she liked him too. But she loved Him so much, and he didn’t seem to love Him at all. She did not know what to do.

She told everyone that she would never do it. She told Him that she would be strong and hold back. But she was sinking. And He wasn’t the one that she was holding on to.

He told her once.

He told her twice.

He told her a third time: “Don’t let that man near you until you know that he loves Me with all his heart.”

She wanted to listen. But she didn’t.

Most would say she was falling in love. She knew she was falling away from Love.

I waited patiently for the Lord;
He turned to me and he heard my cry.
He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
Out of the mud and the mire;
He set my feet on a rock
And gave me a firm place to stand.
He put a new song in my mouth,
A hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear
And put their trust in the Lord.
(Psalm 40:1-3)

“Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift you as wheat. But I prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.”

The Lord turned and looked straight at Peter.

And he went outside and wept bitterly.

“And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Lost in Thought

Leave a Reply

