My God is Always True.

MyKidsEditMy main role for the Celebration on Friday was to get my kids to there as soon as possible. They were doing a performance they’d done once before in the summer. Joining my past intern partner Spencer in a song he had written. I went in the afternoon with my room mates to find out how to get to People’s Church then left to head downtown and grab my kids after they were finished school.

The coordinator, Peter, had told me that I should try to get the kids there by five so that we could fit a quick practice in for them during the walk through. It seemed pretty impossible, the little boy that was coming wouldn’t be home until 4:05 and it took at least an hour to get there. So my prayer of the day was, “Jesus get us there by five.”

I had three children coming each from a different school. My plan was to meet up with whoever it was who would end up picking up kids with me at the first little girls house where her bus would drop her off a bit before 3:30. A little vampire jumped off the bus in full make up and informed me that she would be out as soon as she showered. One of the street leaders from our youth program showed up right on time, he’s a great young man, it was really cool to spend some time with him that day. We waited around for awhile then thought about running to get the other kids and then coming back. Turns out that wouldn’t have worked out at all… But luckily she ran out, ‘all clean’ (as Ronnie would say) just in time to stop us from making a poor decision.

Next we ran over to the school where the second little girl was waiting. This was a quick stop, she handed her bag to her brother and we were on our way.

(Remember when I went into my little rant about my 3 minute long pirate game at the park with one of my boys? Well a few days before Halloween he told me that he was going to be a pirate so that the next time we played pirates at the park we could dress up. I informed him that all of my pirate gear was at home but I’d get it at Christmas and then we might play pirates at the park in the fall. Right, so I saw the little pirate leaving his school in full costume that day. :))

So now we were ready to pick up that little boy with the 4:05 bus. It turned out to be more of a 4:20 bus… And there was a missing big brother. I was scared that I wouldn’t be able to pick him up from his bus. Luckily the bus driver let me have him, we dropped his bag and art projects of at his friend, The Little Artist’s house and we went on our way.

I always prefer to take a Spadina streetcar, but we were pretty far from Spadina and children just walk so slow… So we decided on Bathurst street. I told the kids we needed to pray that we got a streetcar real fast… We had to run for it… But it was there just on time. We thanked Jesus.

It was a mighty long way to get to the church from downtown. Luckily the kids survived… Without too much complaining. It was past 5:00 but I told God that I knew He was big and I just wasn’t going to change my prayer.

When we got to the church we stopped off for a washroom break and then walked into the dark sanctuary. To my surprise (it being 5:30 by this time) the declaration that we were ‘just on time’ was made as we entered the room. But why was I surprised? I’d been asking God to get us there on time, of course we were on time, it just so happened that my guess of 5:00 was the wrong time.

Now, I was to help out back stage for the whole evening so I went back there and watched my kids being led onto the stage for their practice. I thought perhaps I should be waiting back there like I thought I’d be doing for their performance… But I just couldn’t help myself. I walked out to see them getting situated on the stage.

The three looked awfully nervous.

The song started.

Spencer started to sing.

The children stood there in a daze. Half giggly, half terrified. No words coming from their mouths.

Peter stopped the song and started to talk to the kids. I held myself back from running over. He seemed to be doing well, they were smiling and nodding.

So they started again. This time they sang the song through, rather quietly but they did it.

Finally I burst out to whoever it was I was sitting beside that I just wanted to be there. (They’ve never done it without me sitting in front leading them along .) They told me to go. So I asked Peter if I could just be there in front while they performed. I knelt in front of the stage and we ran through the chorus one more time. Can I just say, my kids are AMAZING little singers!?

The Celebration night was amazing. I got to hang out with children all night. I saw some amazing performances. Spencer did an amazing job at his song and although my kids continued to look nervous, they sang their little hearts out.

(If I can find some sort of recording of the song I’ll show it to you. I feel like there is one as I heard Spencer and the children singing after the Camp Freedom community night although neither Spencer or the Peace Kids were there. If not I’ll ask Spencer if I can post the lyrics, he’s an amazing song writer.)

After the program there was a big party going on in the other room. It was decorated beautifully. The kids were so excited. Three of our volunteers who worked all summer were there and we had a great time hanging out with them.

In the centre of the room there was a tree. On the tree were leaves from each camp, and the people at the Celebration night. The leaves were sharing all of our ideas of what makes a “Community of Promise”. At the end of the night I had to drag my kids away from putting leaf after leaf onto the tree so that we could make our way home.

tree

I saw pictures of the tree on facebook and I could pick out which leaves my kids had been doing:

Tree

mykidsleaves

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

*photocred to: Sarah Masson

Leave a comment

Filed under Urban Promise

Leave a Reply

