Indescribable.

From the highest of heights to the depths of the seacroppedcrayons2

Creation’s revealing Your majesty

From the colours of fall to the fragrance of spring

Every creature unique in the song that it sings

All exclaiming:

Indescribable, uncontainable…

…Awestruck we fall to our knees as we humbly proclaim

You are amazing God.

I guess it would be awfully silly to ask if you’d ever been tired… But what about tired on every level? I can recall a time last year when I was sitting with my room mates and we each expressed how we were feeling physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually exhausted.

I’ve been wondering for awhile how it is that you rest spiritually.

Then yesterday I was in Oakville visiting a friend. We were sitting around her apartment for awhile wondering what we should do before I headed back to Toronto. We decided to wander into the wooded area by her apartment to collect leaves for my kids arts and crafts project.

It was awfully beautiful.

I remembered yesterday why I love autumn.

There was a crisp breeze but the sun was shining brightly.

At one point we wandered off the path into a clearing right beside a little stream. The ground below and branches above were covered in bright yellow maple leaves. All around us there were leaves slowly twirling to the ground.

I stood there in awe of the beauty of God’s creation.

We picked the prettiest leaves we could find… Taking no mind to the fact that when you make leaf rubbings the colour of the leaves doesn’t really matter. I just wanted my kids to see a bit of the amazing sight I was seeing there.

I thought this whole time that I’d like to catch one of these happily falling leaves. When we left the little forest I was saddened that I had not yet managed to do so. Then I saw the great big maple trees that lined the park we were about to walk through. They had a steady flow of twirling, dancing leaves making their way to the ground. We were almost through the park when I stopped, dropped my leaves, and ran back.

Is it strange for two twenty-year-old women to be running around diving for leaves?

I can’t say that I care if it is.
I caught one.

Well the point of this all, I think I understand now why people go off into little cottages in the woods for their spiritual retreats. There’s something amazing about escaping things made by man and standing amongst God’s absolute masterpieces.

Anyways I brought my leaves back and shared them with a few of God’s little masterpieces that I get to see nearly every day. I told them that I’d gone to the forest in search of leaves for them, and they seemed pretty impressed.

Leafart copy

2 Comments

Filed under Camp Peace

2 responses to “Indescribable.

  1. 😀
    Not strange at all. And an excellent way to rest.

Leave a Reply

