Hallelujah. (It’s a command. It means ‘Praise the Lord’.)

— * O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.”- Psalm 63:1


Hi. My name is Erin Pipes.


It feels like I’ve written those two sentences more times than actually necessary in the past year and a half.

But how else can one start a “guest spot” in a blog? If there are any suggestions out there, please email. Because this “one” is often unsure of how to begin.

You know, it makes sense though. Since I was six… the only introductions I can remember all began with a “Hi… I’m Erin Pipes…What’s your name?”

(Normally, those at age six involved the ball pen at McDonald’s, a giant buck-toothed smile, and a little pig tail swish. Often followed by a strange look from the fellow ball-penner.)

My mom has always been a big fan of really getting to know a person.

I’m not sure why I wanted to ‘guest spot Rumer’s blog’ in the first place, I guess I’ve always been a fan of people who guest spotted. Like, take Ellen Degeneres for instance. Now there’s a woman who loves a good guest spot! I remember when she had that random kid from Idol singing his made up songs about sailing ships and love… Like where did she get off inviting HIM to the show?? But seriously…


God is so cool, right. (I know, eventually I needed to bring Jesus back–kinda like J.T. and his sexiness–except this is Godly and pure;) )

EVERYDAY I’m learning something new. God is showing me things that I never would have noticed-about myself, about my roommates, about random people on the bus, about my children, about my community, about LIFE. I’m serious! And He shows me it through all kinds of things… Mostly through others and my conversations with them, but the Bible is my favourite learning spot. And especially through my kids. They are so special, I can’t help but throw that out there every few sentences I say now. It’s amazing.

God’s been giving me more and more one on one time with different kids and through that I’ve been getting to know them better and finding out how amazing they each are. God’s giving me a big heart for my community and each time I see something that I know makes Him sad, my heart breaks right along with His. I can literally feel it, you know, God pushing me to do things, to talk to different people, to be there for certain kids at certain times, and listen when their words need to be heard. These times are the hugest for me. Just knowing that God chose me to be here at this moment in time and knowing I am right where He put me.

I am so inadequate. Every single day I am pushed lower and lower. I’m inched further and further toward the end of myself and the very beginning of the love of Christ. I can’t even fathom it. So many times I’ve felt it, but still there is something in me that can’t let go, it’s scared, and it’s what keeps me from jumping in head first with my eyes closed. Therefore, I come before Him each day knowing how broken and how unable I am, just praying that somehow He will want to use me to be part of a solution, part of His perfect will. As much as I mess it up, one thing I’ve learned is that He will always bring it back for His glory. And that is the only thing that keeps me going. God as my sustenance, and His heart as my guide.

WOAHPipes


Ephesians 6:19-20

Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should.

♥

4 Comments

Filed under Guest Starring...

4 responses to “Hallelujah. (It’s a command. It means ‘Praise the Lord’.)

  1. Erin Pipes is beautiful and sincere and I love her.
    🙂

  2. Calida

    Man Erin, that was beautiful. Really beautiful. I’m kind of in awe.

  3. Pingback: A Walk. (With Erin Pipes) « Rumour Has It…

  4. Pingback: Random Daily Dealings « A Servant's Journey…

Leave a Reply

